Simply Grateful Gardener

Gardening To Fill The Pantry!

Cross-Pollinating Tomatoes

6 Comments

Went out to the tomato plants the other day and the plants are booming.

The tomatoes are clustered like grapes.

The tomatoes are clustered like grapes.

All of the tomato plants have between 16 and 24 tomatoes on them.

All of the tomato plants have between 16 and 24 tomatoes on them.

Among the plants however I found something rather surprising.

The cherry tomato plants had tomatoes that, although smaller, looked exactly like my Beef Steaks.

Cross Polination 9

It’s at least triple the size of a cherry tomato and still growing.

Cross Polination 7

Then moving to my 4th of July tomatoes, which are supposed to be 3″ in diameter, there were teeny, tiny cherry tomatoes.

Cross Polination 5

This entire branch on the 4th of July Tomatoes has cherry tomatoes on it.

See the 4th of July Tomato just below the cherry ones?

See the 4th of July Tomato just below the cherry ones?

I knew that tomatoes could cross-pollinate, even though they are self-pollinating, but typically this does not reveal itself until the next generation plant. I guess I’m just lucky this way.

It doesn’t bother me that these plants have cross-pollinated, but it will make it difficult to save seeds from any of my tomato plants. Still, isn’t this pretty neat?

Nature forever surprises us, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

6 thoughts on “Cross-Pollinating Tomatoes

  1. Pingback: Nature’s Natural Wonders In The Garden | Simply Grateful Housewife

  2. So cool! I learn something new everyday!

    Like

  3. Oh those tomatoes look so good. Mine are beginning to succumb to the heat around here. I am guessing there will be less growing and much more ripening in the next few days. Happy Gardening!!

    Like

    • The tomatoes have stopped flowering that’s for sure. Some of the green tomatoes are getting larger and quite a few of the green ones have turned red and already been process, thus the delayed response. I got more tomatoes than I’d hoped for and was able to complete all three of my tomato canning projects this year. Now I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the remaining tomatoes will ripen and I’ll be able to try one more canning project for the year.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

